Time heals | The Stages of Grief – Rhea Gupta

Stage 1:
Your breakfast seems to remain untouched every morning
You probably eat on the way to work
I wait for a kiss now and then
that I somehow am not able to feel
You somehow seem to leave before I wake up and come back only after I sleep?
It’s like you have left me
But you would never do that, would you?

Stage 2
Why are you not home yet!
I want to see you
You should stop working overtime
Can you stop avoiding me?
I feel lonely
I need you to be beside me
I think I am going insane
Can you fucking come back to me?

Stage 3
I am ready to change for you
I am ready to be more caring
To give you all my time
I will do what you want
Please come back to me
I will change
We will change
We can fix this
We can’t leave it broken like this…

Stage 4
I can’t breathe without you
I can’t dream without you
I can’t seem to live without you
Please come back
I try to relieve my heart of some of the pain
My vases are broken
My wrists are slit
My cheeks are tear stricken
And you are still not here

Stage 5
I got up from the bed today
Cleaned myself and my room
I promised to be something in life
Today I leave the shadow I was
I am free now
And now,
I shall be someone without you

~Rhea Gupta, 12th grade, Shiv Nadar School, Noida


Liked what you read? Like this poem, share it and comment down below to share your thoughts with the author. 

Loading Likes...

One Comment

Leave a Reply